About Us » Harassment, Intimidation & Bullying (HIB) Info

Harassment, Intimidation & Bullying (HIB) Info

The Carteret School District is committed to providing a safe learning environment for our all our students.

Listed below is the contact information for our district coordinator and school specialists, as well as, helpful resources and information for our parents and students.

Name

School

Contact Information

Ms. Veronica Pitts, Anti-Bullying Coordinator CHS 732-541-8960, ext. 4012 vpitts@carteretschools.org
Mrs. Dara Benjamin, Anti-Bullying Specialist CHS 732-541-8960, ext. 4048 dbenjamin@carteretschools.org
Miss Toni-Marie Planko,  Anti-Bullying Specialist CHS 732-541-8960, ext. 4046 tplanko@carteretschools.org
Ms. Bonita Baskay,  Anti-Bullying  Specialist CMS 732-541-8960, ext. 8131 bbaskay@carteretschools.org 
Ms. Allison Heim,  Anti-Bullying  Specialist CMS 732-541-8960, ext. 8059
aheim@carteretschools.org 
Mrs. Sonia Galipo,  Anti-Bullying  Specialist Columbus 732-541-8960, ext. 2003 sgalipo@carteretschools.org
Miss Ashley Gasparro,  Anti-Bullying  Specialist Minue 732-541-8960, ext. 3004 agasparro@carteretschools.org
Miss Ashley Gasparro,  Anti-Bullying  Specialist N. Hale 732-541-8960, ext. 5049 agasparro@carteretschools.org

 

"The statutory definition of "bullying" does not include all violent or aggressive conduct against a student. The definition, both before and after adoption of the 2010 Anti-Bullying Act, refers to conduct that is "reasonably perceived as being motivated" by a "distinguishing characteristic" of the victim, such as, "race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical, or sensory [disability]" N.J.S.A. 18A:37-14."

"The statute has not limited "distinguishing characteristic" to those specifically enumerated, but is has consistently required such a perceived motivation. Thus, harmful or demeaning conduct motivated only by another reason, for example, a dispute about relationships or personal belongings, or aggressive conduct without identifiable motivation, does not come within the statutory definition of bullying."

Reference: K.L. v. Evesham Township Bd. of Educ., 423 N.J. Super. 337, 351 (2011)

Related Links